Bitrate for DVDR's

vbimport

Sorry if this has been covered before but I am new to creating DVDs from DIVx and I couldn’t find anything that helps. I have been following chickenman’s guide for DIVx to DVD , but every time I try to author the DVD in TMPGEnc DVD Author. It tells me that the bitrate is too high. The bitrate for the video is 9800 and the audio is 192 which gives me a combined bitrate of 9992 and TMPGEnc DVD Author says the max for a compliant DVD is 9848. I have tried adjusting the settings in dvd2svd but I cannot get the bitrate down. Am I setting one of the parameters wrong, or am I just missing something out.

TIA

:slight_smile:

as long as you followed chickenmans guide, and made sure you adjusted ALL the settings as stated in it, just ignore the error message TMPGEnc DVD Author gives you. it is a bug, the dvd will turn out fine.

if you actually author in another program (maestro for example) you don’t get that message so there must be a conflict somewhere with TMPGEnc. i always uses TMPGEnc though and just ignore the error message and i have never had any problems.

eli

I have had the same problem, and did ignore that bit rate was too high, however, when trying to play the vts files established I have no sound; although video image is perfect.

Is there any solution to this.

best regards

chella

dvdr can be made in many different bitrates. Also can the bitrates be variable or constant. Depending how long the movie is, you can change the bitrate of it…till it fits on dvdr. But ofcourse lowering the bitrate means lower quality.

what was the total size of the result that came out? if the bitrate was too high it propably won’t fit on dvdr