Big problems DVDRW IDE1004

I got my drive yesterday , and tried burning Van wilder to dvd . I used an Emtec 4speed dvd-r disk , i cant post any mediacodes cause neither nero or dvdinfopro will recognize these disks , which says alot really . My BTC did successfully end the writing process but the verification was horrible , i’m very new to all this burning stuff so i tried to play the dvd anyway , just scipping through the chapters . It did play normal , although i got the impression picture qaulity wasnt up to par with the original , untill i got halve way through the movie when it hung and all i could do was close powerdvd with the taskmanager and eject the cd . Next i tested the media for errors using dvdinfopro and it showed what my testplay indicated , all green blocks untill halve way through where it started going down and at the 70% procent mark this program also stopped working . I hadnt upgraded my firmware untill then so i decided now is a good time . I downloaded the windows FW043 and ran it , it completed the update and told me to reboot so i did . I got a nasty BOD when booting up , all i could do was use the off switch on the back of my PSU , the rest was unresponsive . After i powered down and rebooted , i check my drive info using DVDinfopro and it said it was on FW043 . Then i discovered something i think maybe caused my problem , when pressing mediainfo it returned info . I forgot to remove the faulty burned disk i was scanning before updating my FW . To be safe i then ran the firmware upgrade again , this time without BOD’s . Since upgrading to the new firmware ive been having nothing but problems , basicly every time i try to burn something sooner or later my system will hang and all that works is the off switch on my PSU . I havent had these kinds of hangs since i owned a C64 ages ago :s . I started reading this forum and checked my settings , i discovered my secondary IDE master (my burner location) transfer mode was set to UltraDMA4 . My tos