Best way to rip DVD?

vbimport

I have a Samsung SE-S204S USB External DVD burner. I have a collection of over 200 movies that I’d like to make copies of. I would like to know what the best program(s) to use is to get the highest quality copies, as close to 1:1 as possible.

My DVD media I wish to burn to is LightScribe 16x DVD-R. I am running Windows XP Home SP3. I have access to DVDFab, AnyDVD HD, DVDSmith, CloneDVD2, AnyReader, etc. (pretty much any and all programs available, I can get it)

SO… my question is this: In order to get the highest quality copies of my original DVDs, what program(s) should I use and would it be better to back them up first (to VOB files like DVDSmith does) or an AVI file (like bitRipper does) or and ISO image (like CloneDVD2 does)

Please share your personal opinions and feel free to use technical terms, as I have a degree in Information Technology (specifically Customer Support) and can understand the jargon.

[QUOTE=xSeanBoi;2489637]I have a Samsung SE-S204S USB External DVD burner. I have a collection of over 200 movies that I’d like to make copies of. I would like to know what the best program(s) to use is to get the highest quality copies, as close to 1:1 as possible.

DVD media I wish to burn to is LightScribe 16x DVD-R. I am running Windows XP Home SP3. I have access to DVDFab, AnyDVD HD, DVDSmith, CloneDVD2, AnyReader, etc. (pretty much any and all programs available, I can get it)

SO… my question is this: In order to get the highest quality copies of my original DVDs, what program(s) should I use and would it be better to back them up first (to VOB files like DVDSmith does) or an AVI file (like bitRipper does) or and ISO image (like CloneDVD2 does)

Please share your personal opinions and feel free to use technical terms, as I have a degree in Information Technology (specifically Customer Support) and can understand the jargon.[/QUOTE]