Best Way to "Label" a Burned CD?

vbimport

I am new to burning CD’s (and also to this forum) and am wondering what is the best way to label a CD which I have burned. It seems to me that there are 3 ways.

• Get a CD/DVD burner drive with “Lightscribe” capability and use “Lightscribe” software and “Lightscribe” capable CD’s (or DVDs) to burn a label directly onto the top of the CD/DVD.

• Use a label printer such as “Acoustica” to print a paper “sticker” label which can be attached to the top of the disk (or hand print a paper adhesive label and stick it to the top of the disk).

• Use a highlighting or marking pen to write directly on the top of the disk.

I have heard that it is not good to affix paper stickers to the top of the disk since that can block the transfer of data and/or speed deterioration of the disk. I have also heard that writing directly on the disk with a marking pen can cause the same problem.

Are either of these concerns true? Can someone offer any suggestions or comments about the best way to label a burned CD/DVD if I don’t yet have a “Lightscribe” drive? Thanks.

[QUOTE=Tumbleweed1;2116086]I am new to burning CD’s (and also to this forum) and am wondering what is the best way to label a CD which I have burned. It seems to me that there are 3 ways.

• Get a CD/DVD burner drive with “Lightscribe” capability and use “Lightscribe” software and “Lightscribe” capable CD’s (or DVDs) to burn a label directly onto the top of the CD/DVD.

• Use a label printer such as “Acoustica” to print a paper “sticker” label which can be attached to the top of the disk (or hand print a paper adhesive label and stick it to the top of the disk).

• Use a highlighting or marking pen to write directly on the top of the disk.