Best method to transfer analougue to digital?

vbimport

When I first looked at moving VHS coverage to a DVD and editing it I thought that moving the film (if that is the correct term) from VHS tapes to DVDs and then editing it would be simple even though I have never done it before but I was wrong.

I started by connecting a VHS player to a DVD recorder and played the VHS taped while they recorder to a DVD. No problem, because they played on a TV when I tried them out. The problems started when I attempted to move the files that I had capture on the DVDs onto my computer to edit and it was then that I discovered the complexities and diferencies of VOB, AVI and MPEG files.

After looking at various forums I discovered that there is software that will convert the VOB files to AVI and MPEG but there were as many threads that were critical of that method as there were supporting it.

Then I was given a box with "Xpert DVD Maker USB 2.0 written on it. This cost about £30.00 and it came with instructions that promised that all I had to do was to connect it to my VHS player and computer through a scart lead and a USB and all would be well but I could not get it to transfer the VHS content to my computer. A friend told me that he uses a Canopus ADVC110 (analogue to digital video converter) into the Fire wire but that costs £200.00 more or less. Is one more effective than the other?

I then read that a USB connection is not as good as a fire wire connection.
I also read that I should use the computer video capture card but I am such a novice that I don’t know if I even have one.

So, with that rambling description does anyone have a suggestion as to what is the best method to capture VHS tapes to my computer?

I think you had it right the first time. The DVD recorder will generally do a fine job. Editing those DVD’s won’t be any simpler if you capture on the PC. All you need is the right tools.