Best Image File Program

vbimport

I am a newbie for sure, and this may be a newbie question, but ...

What program is the best to use to make disc images? Are there any advantages to one over another or is there one that most people tend to use?

Thanks.

BadASCII

It depends… An image can be made with a lot of programs. Which one is best depends on what kind of disc you’re making an image of. For instance if you want to make an image of a copy-protected disc you should go for CloneCD but then again, BlindSuite can also do it. And then there’s CDRWin that can also make an image of a copy-protected disc. And besides that we have the unprotected discs… Nero/CDRWin/CloneCD/you name it can make an image of these discs and they’re all quite easy to use. Here’s an overview of burnprograms and images they make:

• *.DAO (Duplicator), *.TAO (Duplicator), *.ISO (Nero, BlindRead, Creator), *.BIN (CDRWin), *.IMG (CloneCD), *.CIF (Creator), *.FCD (Uncompressed), *.NRG (Nero), *.GCD (Prassi), *.P01 (Toast), *.C2D (WinOnCD), *.CUE (CDRWin), *.CIF (DiscJuggler).

Just to name a few…

Each image format must generally be copied with the appropriate program. For instance a .BIN image can’t be written with CloneCD.

On the internet the most common images you can download are .ISO, .BIN (often a .CUE is included) and .IMG.

Finally we have programs such as IsoBuster which can unpack all mentioned image files to your harddisk so you can burn them as separate files…

Thanks alot…that helps out alot. Now, one last thing… Does it matter what CD ROM is reading the protected disc to make this image file? I don’t know if that problem will fall on the image making program or the drive reading the copy-protected material.