Best generic settings dvd to divx - help

Hi
Im new to DVDfab, I want to convert a dvd with 6 half hour episodes separatly to divx. What would be the best file size or should I use a fixed bit rate for each episode to have a decent quality. My screen size is: 720x544

In other words what are the best settings for a half hour dvd file to get a decent quality.:slight_smile:
THNX

Hi nickhirst. You will probably need to increase the video bitrate from the default starting value to get really good video (but this is subjective). If file size is no object, try about 2000 kb/s. You have chosen a large screen size which will require lots of bits to make a a good picture. Look at the “bits/pixel” column. This reading will change as you adjust the video bitrate slider. Try to get it above 0.2 (and even higher would be better). I do all my conversions at 0.4-0.6.

I have been doing this encoding stuff for years with the target device being a large TV (50") and the file playing on a Network Media player (Ziova CS-505) and when doing this you have to ensure that the bitrate/quality tradeoff is correct.

I have found DVDFab great to use instead of the three tools that I had to use before.

For most 16:9 PAL Movies, I use generic.xvid.audiocopy set at at 720 x 400 resolution, adjust the bitrate to 1100, then set 2 pass encoding.

This gives me great results on both the TV/Ziova and on my PC’s and a 1:30s movie usually ends up around 1.4Gb with no discernable loss from the DVD quality.

Great info, Gregiboy.

Thanks Signals,

It certainly is a lot easier than ripping with DVD Decrypter and using AutoGK, VirtualDubMod & FFDShow to output a file in at least a three step process.

For everyone’s information, the files encoded this way will stream fine over 802.11g wireless to network media players.

I have tested it with D-Link, Zensonic, Ziova & MediaGate players.

If anyone wants any more info, please ask on this post.

Greg