Best Editing Software?

vbimport

As I said a few weeks ago I have a lot of elderly VHS tapes that I want to get onto DVDs and then put into some sort of chronological order with titles and a voice over. I finished up with DVDs carrying two primary folders marked, Video_TS and Video_RM. The Video _RM did nothing but the Video_TS had a number of files marked BUP IFO and VOB. The VOB files being the important ones.
I then attempted to import the VOB files into MS Movie Maker and it told me to sod off or rather that I needed to convert the VOB files into MPEG or AVI and that was a tortuous process. What was even more tortuous is that MS Movie Maker will not burn a new DVD so there is another process to go through.
I was then told the Nero will do the lot including edit but as a novice I found the process difficult but at least I did not have to convert the VOB files.

Having picked the brains of this forum I had started to understand the process I wanted to use so I keyed in “Best Editing Software” and variations of that theme into the web which came up with a number of suggestions:

http://www.filmmaking.net/faq/answers/faq24.asp came up with Adobe Premiere Pro

http://video-editing-software-review.toptenreviews.com/ came u with PowerDirector

http://www.desktop-video-guide.com/top-7-video-editing-software-review.html came up with Ulead VideoStudio9

Pinnacle Studio Plus (Titanium Edition Special Anniversary Pack)

This forum also came up with a number of suggestions so bearing in mind that I am a novice would anyone care to pick what they consider the most appropriate package for me to use.

Premiere Pro is a powerful editing package, but is not simple to learn. It is also very expensive. Have you looked at the consumer level Adobe program called Premiere Elements?

I don’t know how PowerDirector got such a good review. Every program I’ve seen from Cyberlink (outside of PowerDVD) sucks rocks. I would stay very far away from this.