Best DVD9 --> DVD5 transcoding aplication?

vbimport

Hi. I was wondering which would be the best application to make a DVD9 --> DVD5 transcoding.
I have heard of Clone DVD, Clone DVD 2, DVD Shrink, DVD95Copy, DVD2One, DVD Rebuilder and many others and I was wondering: which would be the highest quality transcoder?
So far I’m usiing DVD Shrink a lot, but I’m wondering if I’m wasting too much DVD quality, even by choosing its ‘highest quality’ settings (“Deep scan” and so on).
Please note: my problem does not lie in DVD ripping or in the time expense (until about a night, that is about 10-12 hours, is for me a decent time, if needed to make a very high DVD9 (on my hard disk) --> DVD5 (on another folder of my HD)) conversion.
I’m not concerned about a few tenths dollars’ expense, and about the usage difficulty (I’m a rather expert user and, luckily, there are lots of tutorials).
I own CCE, so even DVD Rebuilder could be an interesting application.
By my questions are:

1. which are the best transcoding application(s)?
  2. which are the best settings, to obtain a high quality’s DVD5?
  3. how much time will I need, to convert from a DVD9 set to a DVD5 set, for an average 2h movie, using a decent (not older than 1 year from now) computer?
  4. can all ripped DVD be transcoded by the application you suggest?
  5. which are the drawbacks of the suggested application(s)?

Thanks in advance.

I’m not going into argue about this or that app being better, fastes or easier to use. It all depends on your preferences and experience/knowledge.

I prefer DVD Rebuilder with CCE when I’m out for highest quality. DVD Shrink for all the rest. :slight_smile:

to answer the question, the top quality transcoder is probably what you’re already using…DVD shrink with all of the high quality modes, etc…but it takes forever.

if you were to ask me the quickest and easiest transcoder, I’d say clonedvd2.