Best combo is NEC 2510A & DVD-ROM?

vbimport

I’m new to this but after weaving thru all the info in the forum it seems there isn’t really one “best” dvd writer.

For 2 drive system:
NEC 2510A + DVD-ROM
Positives: 2510A has good DVD writing, dual layer, bit setting, good media compatibility.
Negatives: has some trouble reading some scratch media so to offset that use a good DVD-ROM drive.
What would be good ones? Toshiba, Liteon?

For 1 drive system:
Pioneer 107D is good all around but pickier about certain media, no DL and no bit setting.
Plextor 708A/712A is good but expensive, no DL?, no bit setting?

Liteon 832…not too sure…
Is this an accurate assessment?

Actually, a better combination would be to replace that DVD-ROM with a LiteOn combo. :wink: When I checked Newegg a week ago, the 52x LiteOn combo (the ones being sold as rebadged Sonys) were only $10 more than the LiteOn DVD-ROMs.

For a 1-drive system, I’d most definitely pick the 812S/832S. With firmware hacking, most of the the DVD quality issues can be resolved. :slight_smile: (and for some media types, it can even outperform the NEC) Plus, it’s the best reader, the best CD burner (speed, quality, and copy protections) (well, except for the 712A–that’s faster, but also will cost you an arm and a leg), and you also get KProbe.

Q: Is this an accurate assessment?
A: For the most part.