"Best" CD-R type for car audio

Hi, I am a complete newbie and I just have a few questions to help myself fix a problem and better understand some things. I want to make backup copies of all of my audio CDs so I can bring them around with me to play in my car stereo. My old stock stereo would not play CD-Rs about half of the time on tracks towards the end of albums, it would make a very loud annoying crackling sound. I thought it might have just been that the stock stereo wasn’t very good, so I bought a new headunit and new speakers. My new system sounds much better, but last night much to my dismay I heard the crackling again on the last track of a 70-some minute long album.

I did some reading online and stumbled upon your “CD-R media: How to find the best ?” article, and read parts of the “What is the best CD-R” thread. The CD-Rs that I used to copy my albums were Memorex branded CMC Magnetics. CMC Magnetics seemed to take a lot of bashing on the forum, so I am guessing that it might be the problem. I found out that the manufacturer was CMC Magnetics through the program I use to copy the CDs (PlexTools), but it does not tell me the dye type. I haven’t had any luck finding it with a few online programs I tried, either.

First of all, are CMC Magnetics disks Phthalocyanine based? I think they are, but I am not positive. I got the feeling that Taiyo Yuden disks were well-liked on the thread, and it is my understanding that they are Cyanine based. According to Wikipedia, they will not last as long as Phthalocyanine. Also somewhere along the line, I got the impression that Cyanine based disks may work better for car audio.

So, I should use Taiyo Yuden CD-Rs for my car audio, and I can continue to use the Memorex CD-Rs (and DVD+Rs for that matter) for archival purposes? Or do I have this whole thought process backwards? Should I just stick to Taiyo Yudens for everything if they are better? I take very good care of my CDs.