Best Burning Software for the 716A?

I’m looking to upgrade my NEC 2500A workhorse (fantastic burner) to the Plex 716A. I’ve been using Nero OEM (Ver 6) to burn DVD’s and also ImgTool. Will I need to upgrade Nero to 6.608? Is the packaged Roxio stuff any good? Much Thanks! :slight_smile:

Roxio < Nero IMO … there have been a few cases where users reported Nero to create non-standard Video DVD’s (the actual standards are very rigid) but personally, I did not encounter any problems yet. And the latest version is always recommended for the newest hardware.

Using PlexTools Pro is the best for me. I’ll use Nero for whatever PlexTools can’t burn.

I just picked up a Plex 716A (0304) today from Bestbuy ($129.95 minus $30 mail-in rebate = $99.95). I’m a newbie to Plextor, so I appreciate the head’s up on the Plex Tools burner, I’ll give it a try. Nice overall package (716A) compared to the barebones OEM drives I’ve had in the past! :bigsmile:

I personally use CloneDVD for all my DVD-Video burns. Works great for me as I love its interface (very simple) and the burned discs work in all of my DVD players. I decrypt my discs with DVD Decrypter. For everything else (DAE, burning CD’s, controlling drive, etc.) I use PlexTools. Nero is on my system but I don’t use it that much anymore.

I personally use CloneDVD for all my DVD-Video burns. Works great for me as I love its interface (very simple) and the burned discs work in all of my DVD players.

Defenily. The diference is that i also use Nero…for backup`s :wink:

I use two products to rip DVD’s: DVD Shrink and DVD-RB. Shrink is a great tool and I use it for anything above 90% compression on a single layer disk. If the rip is under 90% I use DVD-RB (which is in beta right now), but a great product. It uses CCE (2.70 SP) to encode and the results are fantastic. You can get more details on DVD-RB at the Doom9 forum board. :slight_smile: