Best burner to back up movies and games...?

Hello all! I need to purchase a new dvd-burner. Despite my atempts at research I can’t seem to find enough information on which drives are going to provide me with the best ability to back up my dvd-movies and video games.I know I want a drive that is dual layer, and R+/- formats. However, I know nothing about the drives I am researching’s OVERALL ability to backup.

I need to purchase the drive soon (my old one completely died), so I figured yall might want to brag for a sec and let me know what model number will work best. It’s for a desktop computer very new all good. I have read the reviews sections and such on a few diff pages of these forums, however a lot of the posts were from a long time ago and none seemed to give enough input as to “what model number exactly does what”. Not meaning to cross post(?) or anything like that. I am just an extream newbie in need of a good solution. And you folks seem to be the ut-most experts :clap: .

Thanks for your time

You need to read the reviews on this site, and look for the part of the review where they discuss copy protection, and 2 sheep burner. It depends on what you are copying. If you want to copy cd’s, you are better off doing that with a cd writer (plextor and yamaha are the best), but other brands do well, including my cheapo khypermeda. If you want to copy dvd’s, I know that my Plextor is good as is my pioneer. My NEC’s suck… Liteon is another good dvd burner. Everyone on this site will have varying opinions as to which drives are the best, so it’s best to read reviews.