BenQ hardware installation

vbimport

Hello, I’m a newbie (total newbie) and I found this forum trying to make my BenQ 1620 pro (internal) work.

I have a Dell Dimension 2400. I replaced my regular DVD drive with the BenQ and my computer can’t detect the thing and my CD drive won’t work either. When I restart, sometimes the computer makes a noise and it displays a screen something about a slave, master not found.

When I bought the thing, the “the Hardware Quick Start Guide” wasn’t in detail enough and it didn’t have an installation CD with it. I checked the official website and they didn’t have a manual available for 1620. I’ve been browsing the internet and this seemed to be the best place to answer all my questions.

I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

What operating system are you using?
Is the Benq jumpered as master or slave?
Is the Benq attached to the master or slave position on your ide ribbon?
Did you plug in the power cable?

I’m using Win XP Pro
I set it first as master (no change), then to slave (no change), finally to cable select (still no change)
Power cables are plugged in, lights turn on and I can eject the tray.

I checked my Device Manager and under the DVD/CD-ROM drives section, the computer says that it (the 1620) is an AVX CD/DVD-ROM SCSI (BenQ isn’t SCSI, right?) Cdrom drive. I’ve been looking for the driver specifically for dw 1620 pro but all I can find are firmware updates. I tried to flash it too but it says that the “drive is not supported”.

I’ve never owned a Dell, but maybe there’s something about their versions of XP Pro that don’t allow non-Dell hardware to be used? I’m really reaching here, of course. Is this XP pro sp1 or sp2? I have an OEM XP pro w/ sp1 and didn’t have any problems whatsoever getting my 1620 to be recognized. I don’t know what else to tell you. Have you tried another ide cable? Do you have another pc to plug the 1620 into?