Benq Ew164b Problems

Hi everyone. I recently bought an external BENQ EW164B dvdr so I could use it with my hp pavilion ze4800 laptop. I had to buy a Belkin usb 2.0 notebook card to get it up the correct requirement which seems to work fine with all my other usb devices. The BENQ rewriter will read and play original dvd’s fine but will not read a blank dvd. Im totally new to burning dvd’s so I hope im not missing something obvious. Im using the latest version of nero and have installed the software from the disc I got with the writer. But as soon as I put a blank (DtatWrite 8x 4.7Gb dvd-r) disc in the drive either the drive will not read the disc or the laptop seems to freeze up until I unplug the usb cable between laptop and drive. Ive tried unplugging all other usb devices but no difference. Has anyone had the same problem, should I try a different make of blank dvd or try installing the driver/software again? Any help or ideas would be superb. Thanks…Andrew.

Anyone has a solution to this problem? I seem to have it too and I can’t find anything wrong with my writer.

Isn’t there anyone who can provide at least some help to this problem?

The BENQ rewriter will read and play original dvd’s fine but will not read a blank dvd.
How do propose to read a blank DVD?

I don’t know DtatWrite, but if you’re using Datawrite… Datawrite media isn’t good anyway, go Verbatim (Made in Taiwan or Made in Singapore, but not Made in India) or TY…
Which burning app are you using to write data to the discs?

The DVD writer doesn’t detect the blank dvd at all…it gives some kind of error.
It is probably not related to the brand of dvd being used.
Anyone with a solution to this?

Doesn’t anyone get the same problem at all?

Hi,

there are some points to think about:

• if you want help, then it is essential that errors are reported correctly.
  • also, basic specs of your computer hardware (CPU, memory, Harddisk) can help troubleshooting.