BenQ DW1655 no longer burns, but still reads

vbimport

[qanda]This thread is about the BenQ DW1655. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]Hi everyone, First post here, please don’t bash me!

I have an IDE Benq DW1655 DVD burner firmware BCIB. I’ve been using it for two years very minimally, mainly as a dvd player in my HTPC. After i sold my HTPC i decided to replace the dvd burner i had in my main desktop with the BenQ. At first, it didn’t have any problems burning DVD images, but gradually i would get a coaster every 3rd burn, then the rate would increase and now i can’t burn anything without gettin an error in the first two minutes of starting the burn process.

i’ve been trying to burn an audio cd but i keep getting coasters. i don’t know if it’s just a bad batch of CD-R’s or if my dvd drive is taking a dump.

the sad part is, i barely ever used it for burning purposes. the reading part of my dvd/cd is fine. I installed windows xp with it and tons of software. if this problem occured earlier i could have contacted benq. but it’s been two years and i think benq’s warranty is only good for a year :sad:

the drive is able to detect burnable media and such, but once it starts burning, i get an error code and it locks up. does this mean my burning capabilities are shot? i tried recording at a slower burn rate but no luck. I am using Taiyo Yuden DVD-Rs and sony cd-r’s.

e8400
ip35-pro
xp sp3 tried using nero, alcohol 120, dvd decrypter and media monkey.

any help trying to troubleshoot this problem would be greatly appreciated.

1. Alcohol is a major cause of a lot of DVD problems. Uninstall or disable it.

2. Make sure you’re using an 80-pin IDE cable.

3. Downgrade your firmware to BCDB.

1. Alcohol is a major cause of a lot of DVD problems. Uninstall or disable it.

2. Make sure you’re using an 80-pin IDE cable.

3. Downgrade your firmware to BCDB.

done the bcdb. been using 80 pin cable. still problems :sad:

gonna try hooking up to usb enclosure to laptop.