Benq dw1620 oem just stops burning for no reason!

vbimport

hi, long time listener, first time caller here. you’ll have to excuse me as i am a complete noob but here goes:-

just bought a benq dw1620 oem drive. it works fine BUT occasionally the drive just stops burning for no reason. the LED goes green, nero freezes, i can’t exit or eject the disc and i have to reset the computer. when the drive does work it works perfectly, dvds play on all my machines, no pixelation, lovely. i’ve tried different speeds, different media (although admittedly not +r as yet…) but it makes no difference. whenever i back up a movie i have throw out 3 coasters for every perfect disc. it sounds too odd. has anyone else had a similar problem? any ideas what i can do?

thanks for any help and apologies for any dumb questions i may ask afterwards!

I have the OEM (NU DW163) 1620, and it’s working like a dream here.

The problems you described are, without doubt in my mind (which comes from 20+ years experience), machine/os oriented. It might be as simple as cables, as convoluted as IDE-drivers, or something with the application used for burning.

Maybe, just maybe the drive is a problem, but all too often one tends to blame the newest addition to a system. While there may be some logic to this, it is no more than about 35% the case - instead, the addition of a new device may cause an existing problem to emerge, where once it lay dormant.

Tell us your machine configuration (CPU/RAM/OS), all of the software you have for burning (and any related things like DirectCD/InCD), and especially list any VSO software you may have.

Make sure you don’t have IE running while burning. IE is among the worst offenders for locking up the machine.

I have had this happen a few times with my BenQ 1620 and/or NEC 3500.

Every time: It turned out to be a CHEAP DVD disc I tried to use. With good media the problem doesn’t happen !!!