Benq DW1620 Burning slow

Well, this is what’s going on:

I recently bought a Benq DW1620, then i bought some “Verbatim 16x -R” dvds…
When burning 4.2Gb (six 700mb avi files) to the Verbatim at 16x it takes me about 15min to burn it, and it often stops about 4/5 min in 1% bfore advancing.

Then i bought some “Sky 8x +R” dvds…
Same deal here… it takes me 15minutes to burn 4.2Gb at 16x, i doesn’t stop in 1% tough.

I don’t know much about dvd burning, i’m new to that matter, but lot of ppl told me i could burn 8x dvds at 16x with no problems. Anyway the “Verbatim” i used were 16x.

So… what kind of problem am i facing here?
Am i just having bad luck with the dvds i’m buying?
Is my recorder messed up?

Every review i see, every opinios says Benq DW1620 has excellent burn speeds… i don’t understand.

My DW1620 came with firmware B7U9 then i upgraded it to B7V9… same thing :frowning:

Need help… what should i do?
Thanks in advance.

Extra info:
Asus P5P800
Prescott 3.2
512Mb DDR400
Primary IDE: HDD1+HDD2
Secondary IDE: Benq DVD-RW only

Sounds like you need to enable DMA.

If think it’s set correctly… i’ve checked that in FAQ, it was already like it was supposed to be:

Sounds to me like WOPC kicking in. Have you tried putting in a blank and running the quick test in QScan for tracking errors and focus errors? Just because a disc is rated at a particular speed doesn’t mean the 1620 will agree. :wink:

Not that this would help with this particular problem, but you should set the burner to master. Having just a slave drive with no master on the same channel is not good.

WOPC slowing down a burn from 16x to 4x? Not likely. Back to the DMA, it might run in PIO mode even if device manager reports it as running in DMA mode. Known problem in windows. Possible solution here: http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?t=378767