BenQ drives and Adobe Premiere compatiblity

vbimport

Hi, Newbie here…
I am looking to buy a great DVD burner.
I’ve searched all over the CDFreaks forums looking for the “best” overall burner. The general consensus seems to be BenQ 1620, NEC 3520a, Pioneer 108, Liteon SOHW-1653.

My real question is…
I plan to use Adobe Premiere Pro to edit and burn home movies.

Is the BenQ 1620 compatible with Adobe Premiere?
or maybe I’ll end up getting Pinnacle Systems 9 software.

Have anyone had any problems with this software?

Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Well, a few things I want to point out:

Premiere Pro does not include a DVD authoring app. It has an “Export to DVD” function but it’s fairly basic. I use Adobe Encore DVD to author my DVDs after editing in Premiere, it’s a pretty smooth workflow. You could also use something like Nero or Roxio for the authoring part… in which case, it doesn’t matter if the Benq is compatible with Premiere or not.

For reference… I edit .AVI files in Premiere, and import the edited video to Encore, where I make menus/chapters etc. Encore then renders the whole thing to DVD compatible MPEG2 files and burns those to a DVD (on the DVD these show up as .VOB files). Encore DVD 1.5 is compatible with the 1620 (it’s on Adobe’s recommended list).

I started out using Studio 9, so I have some insight into that as well:

I could not get it to capture from the 2 capture devices I used: an Aver DVDMaker USB2.0 and a TDK Indicapture. With the Aver it was an issue with the audio part (it captures the audio via the soundcard) and I never figured out why it couldn’t capture from the TDK. So I had to use ArcSoft Showbiz (which came with the TDK) to capture, and then import that into Studio.

Studio has instability problems on anything but Intel hardware. They state to avoid any Via or nVidia chipsets. I experienced this as well… random occasional crashing… on a nForce 2 400 board.