BenQ 1650 only writing a 2x?

Hi there, i’m not sure if it’s the right place to post this thread but since i’m a newbie to this forum and didnt see a help thread i think it will do.

Problem: Since 3 months now my Benq 1620 and my new Benq 1650 are burning at 2x only.

Before that i was using fuji 8x dvd + r and it was working really good, burning at 8x was fine…even the fuji 16x + was working good at this time. Then i dont know waht happen but fuji change their packaging on the spindle and from that time it just doesn’t work for me anymore. I’m only able to write at 2x.

I always use dvd decrypter to burn and fuji dvd.
I did some test with nero and other media like sony dvd- and memorex dvd - and it still doesnt work, writng at 2x only. (takes 30 minute to burn a dvd)

I did format my drive change the cable etc…but nothing seems to work.

Any1 got an idea…i ordered a new cpu and motherboard, maybe it will influence but i dont know…

Welcome to CDF :slight_smile:

Have you tried checking/enabling DMA?

as far as i remember, while installing a software it did ask me if i want to enable dma and i said yes…

i’ll check later tonight but i’m pretty sure it is activated.

Checking in Device Manager (as per the thread I linked to) is the definitive way…I don’t tend to take any notice of programs which tell me about DMA, as some can mis-report it (Nero springs to mind). :slight_smile:

alright i’ll make sure it is set to DMA. thx a lot.

ok so both ide channel are set to DMA if possible. But it did not change anything, still burning at 2x only.

any other idea??

I dont know if it can make a difference both burners are on channel 1.

Hard drive on #2

“DMA if possible” isn’t what we were looking for, because it’s a big “if possible”. What did it say it was actually set to? This information is in the greyed out boxes on the same tab where you found the “DMA if possible” setting.

Alright, this is what i have