Below Average TYG01 Scans. Ways to improve it?

vbimport

Hi,

I just got these TYG01 coded silver-top DVD-R’s from Shop4Tech.com, they’re the ‘value’ series which I got for fairly cheap. However, the results aren’t very satisfying. Although the PIF and jitter readings are not bad, but the PIE is always above 30. I see other users having PIE under 10 for this media, how are you guys able to achieve this?

I’m using Windows XP Pro, which I newly installed with burst rate of 24. I unplugged my CDRW drive from the shared IDE cable, and the BenQ is hooked up on Secondary IDE (I think, I’m not very good with this - the blue connector one is hooked up to my HD).

I tried to do a strategy change using B7U9 firmware, but it doesn’t work at all. When I tried it using B7T9 firmware with TYG02 and MCC###2 strategies at 8x, the results become a bit worse.

Can someone provide me with a way to produce better burns?

Thanks!!

what speed? And firmware version?

I tried several ways with following PIE results:

1/ 4x using default strategy with B7U9. (~25-35)
2/ 8x using TYG02 strategy with B7T9. (~25-55)
3/ 8x using MCC02RG20 strategy with B7T9. (~35-60 with significantly higher jitter)

just use the default ones…your results looks fine

aiight thx eleewhm, i’ll take your word not to mess around with the strategy, cause that one disc I burnt using MCC02RG20 is having a very difficult time loading in my PS2.

However, another thing I noticed on the burnt discs, is that the inner circle of the disc appears darker than the outer circle, the dark parts on all discs are around 0.7~1.5cm. I wonder if it’s the discs that are bad? Cause the word “value” line of TY really bothers me alot, I should’ve just buy the Fujifilm ones for 10 dollars more and get 8x ones… stupid me!

Use B7T9 and burn at 4X with either defaut or TY G02 strategy.
Works great for me.