Bad burns with my 1640 when using imgburn

Okay. I have been burning with my 1640 for about four months, via DVD Dycryptor and Nero, with no problems. I mainly use Tayu Yudens and prodisks with no problem and all scans are good and playback is flawless. About two weeks ago I decided to try DL burning, so I read that Imgburn worked the best. I downloaded that, made it my default ISO and IMG burning utility and tried a few DL burns. Bad burn after bad burn. Turn out my media sucked (Memorex) so I grabbed some Verbatim and started over. bad burn after bad burn (results posted in 1640 DL scans). It was pointed out to me that my CD/DVDspeed was an older version, so i got the latest I could find (4.10 not 4.11) and re-scanned. All results were different than the 3.0 version I had, but still horrible. Fearing the worst, I re-scanned bout 10 recent DVD5’s that I had burned with Imgburn and they were also horrible (48% and lower with PIF at about 30+). I also tried some disks I had burned a month ago, pre Imgburn, and they were all great (about 93-99%). I just burned a few dvd5s with Pro disk and Verbatims with DVD decryptor and the results were great! - burned the same images with IMGburn on the same media and got shit results. Anyone heard of Imgburn causing problems? I did notice that while burning a DL disk, I got some sort of message asking me to choose between 2 layer break points. I googled the message and found nothing, so I just chose the top one…don’t remember which it was, but maybe this cause imgburn to screw up all the burns after that? I am sticking with DVDdceryptor for now until i get this thing figured out.