Backing up dvds to aqua plus media player

Hi - got hold of a media player with a 500 GB hard drive and want to back up my DVDs on to it - especially the kids stuff as they are fonding of destroying valuable disks.

I have plenty of experience backing up dvds to disk using Decrypter, shrink and Nero but i have been told that ripping them to an external hard drive is a lot easier and they are ripped as film only xVid files or something.

To be honest I don’t have a clue and would appreciate any advice.

Depends on the make and model number of media player you have. Most of them should open ISO images of DVDs so the process would be essentially the same as if you intended to back up on physical DVD. Just copy the de-protected ISO image to the media player.

Some media players will also use DVD-Video folders (VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS) so you can use those as well.

Some media players will use MPEG2 files as long as they are less than 2 GB.

If you want the movies smaller, but with definite loss of quality, then you’ll need to convert to XviD or DivX with the audio as MPEG1 Layer III audio. Can do this with freeware applications like Super, FairUse Wizard, AutoGK. The DivX converter suite is OK but you have to pay.

If you list the playback specifications of the media player and its make/model, then perhaps we could give you more specific advice.

Thanks - according to the manual (which most online reviews said was garbage, although the player itself got great reviews) these are the media files supported:

Video: MPEG1/2/MPEG4.XVID.DIVX.VCD.DVD(.mpg;.mpeg;.dat;.avi;.vob;.ifo)

HD file system: FAT32

On the box it is called:

Aqua Plus Multi Media Player Enclosure

Also says it has a one touch back up feature on the box but no mention of this in the manual.

Yes that is often a problem with the manuals. Sometimes the player will actually have a wider compatibility than stated. What make/model is it? Someone else here might have the same one.