Backing up DVD-Audio

How do you backup DVD-Audio DVDs? Can I use DVD shrink or DVDFab Decoder? Thanks in advance, Alex.

dvd-audio’s use a robust protection…so in short…no!!!

Can you post a log from DVDDecrypter when accessing the disc?

AFAIK, most (if not all) DVD-A have a standard DVD-Video part, so Decrypter will show/process only the files contained in the VIDEO_TS folder…

Regards, :slight_smile:

ET

Yup, that’s why I asked. :wink:

I have no knowledge of backing up DVD-Audio. Can you let us know what happens if you read/write in ISO mode. Does the video part still work?

I made a working copy of the video part of my DVD-Audio (I only have this one! :bigsmile: ) in the usual way using Decrypter, without problems.

ET

I have used Shrink to backup DVD-Audio. Several times. :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

By usual you mean file? When you use ISO does it just discard the audio information, or is it there on the copy but not working?

Yup, sorry, I meant in File mode. Using ISO read/write I get a full rip with no errors, but if I burn it, I obtain a DVD that is seen as DVD-Audio by the player, but then it doesn’t start (not even the video part).

ET

If you use DVD Shrink and Create both AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS folders it makes a true DVD-AUDIO Disk.

Really? :eek: You mean with both the hi-res audio and video part working?
I’m quite a noob of DVD Shrink, can you give me some hints on how to proceed? Do I have to re-author it? :confused:

Thanks,

ET

You dont have to do much. The ones I have done are not that large. Just Open disk, let shrink analyse it, then Backup. just make sure you Check create both folders. :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Thanks nmpaulcp. :slight_smile:

However, I think that there is some misunderstanding here…

The only DVD-Audio that I have, mentioned above, is Sheryl Crow - The Globe Sessions (barcode 02498 60829). It has the two folders AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS: