Back Up Question

I’m a newbie remember. Is there a way to use multi discs in backing up more than the standard cap of a single platter. ( Like say using Zip type backups ). I would like to do a complete system backup using CD’s and have the ability to " Restore " all of it if nessessary? What software,etc? Thanks.

Powerquest DriveImage
or
Norton Ghost

They should be able to do the trick with thge option of disk spanning.

Drive image is much more newbie-friendly. A word about backing up: never rely on one method, always have 2 copies of critical data. a second HD serves very well for this purpose. you can schedule Drive Image to create a compressed image to a second hard drive, then burn that to CD at your leisure. Having an image available on HD is very handy, as you can restore a single file or the entire image in just minutes. Neither of the 2 popular imaging programs is very competant at writing directly to CDR, saving the image to HD and copying to CD later is easier and often faster too.

I’ve tried driveimage, and it is quite easy to backup. It will allow you to backup straight to a CD writer. However, if you have an extra HD, I’d just Ghost 7 and do a clone of one HD to another HD.

How to:
Put your original HD on the end connector and set it to CS, put the new drive on the other connector and set it to CS.
Boot to your original Windows and delete your swap file by selecting ‘none’ in device manager.
Then, unzip and copy the attached file (Ghost) to C: root.
Boot to a DOS prompt and execute the file by typing ‘ghost’.
From the menus that follow select copy ‘drive to drive’ aka ‘cloning’.
Before booting to Windows again, put the new drive in the first ide connector but don’t connect the old one yet.
Boot to Windows normally and reset your swap file to a normal size.
Then go to device manager and change the letter as you see fit.
Next time you boot with your old HD connected, it will pick up the next available letter.
by EQ of ICF