Avi's, DivX, Nero 6, menu problems...HELP!

Hello. I have several questions regarding burning DVD files. For reference, I’m using a Nero “suite” of packages that came with my burner; it features Nero Smart Start and Nero Experss v6.6.1.4.

I have several related files that I want to burn to DVD, and I’m trying to get as many of them on a double layer disc as possible. I’m a stickler for features; I’m trying to get all of them accessible by a nice menu (with animated buttons) but I’m having MAJOR problems trying to get my menu system to even work…that’s the focus of most of my questions:

1. The video files in question are .AVI files (yes, those cursed things)…I’m guessing they’re DivX-related (I’m still learning about it). I must have the codec to PLAY them, even though Nero’s Media Player always displays that MPEG licensing warning every time (“Due to patent licensing restrictions, MPEG-4 decoding is not available”). However, Nero’s in-application player refuses to play these files in the chapter-marking and menu-button-animation screens, and sometimes the whole program freezes up during those tasks, which require me to simply skip those steps. The resulting DVD’s I burn do actually work, but without any chapters and unanimated menu buttons. I’ve noticed that I have something called FFDshow that seems to act as the codec-translator for these files; it appears in my system tray when I play (or Nero tries to play) these files. How do I fix all this? Is the issue some incompatibility with FFDshow and Nero? Is there another codec program that would be more compatible? Better yet: Is there a better conversion/burning program, with DivX compatibility, double-layer burning capability, and improved menu customization (including animation) that’s out there and won’t cost an arm and a leg?