Avi2dvd problems

Hello . I am a bit of a newbie but know my way around a cpu alright. I’m trying to convert an avi to dvd using the tutorial by chickenman using dvd2svcd about 10 times and it hangs up. I set it up I’m sure the way it is explained with all the right boxes etc tick or unticked. When the program starts going everything seems fine. The audio gets converted first ok. Then it starts CCE and the GUI comes up. In the dialougebox it looks like it is looking for an “ecl” file then changes to the Avisynth destination that has the “avs” file and blam an error report screen pops up and says there was an error but I don’t know what kind of error(I am using Windows XP home) and then the whole program stops responding. I check My output file (from dvd2svcd gui) and there are the first few files including the" avs" but I don’t any" ecl" I do have to mention though that I have “Ace Mega Codec Pack” installed. Could this be causing the problem. I have also downloaded the codecs mentioned in the tutorial and am using CCE 2.5 . In the read me file of the dvd2svcd it mentions something about making a bin/cue file. Do I have to do that also? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou:confused:

First thing I would do is uninstall any Codec pack you have. They clag up systems better than super glue !

Hoever, there may be a problem with the AVI also (even though it may appear to play okay), check it with DivFix or DivXRepair.

Can you also report here the Video & AUdio properties of the AVI using GSPOT.

You could try to use TMPGEnc Plus (Wizard) to encode to see if the same issue ocurrs. You also need TMPGEnc DVD Author to author your encoded file.
http://www.pegasys-inc.com/en/download/index.html
//Danne

Thankyou will give all a try asap.:confused:

According to Gspot:
Codec name-Xvid
Audio codec-0x555(mp3) ID,d as Mpeg-1 Layer3
Video framerate-23.97
Bitrate-817kb/s
Audio bitrate -139kb/s(69/ch,stereo) vbr lame3
Audio freq. - 48000hz
Source- 576x320 (1.80:1)[=9:5]