Avi2dvd created files, but no image. Can I still create a dvd?

vbimport

Hello all,

Hopefully somebody is able to help me. I have a DivX avi file (700MB, 1:45min) I tried to convert to a dvd movie (DVD5). I used AVI2DVD for this job (selected the FreeEnc Codec) and at the end it should create an ISO file. Unfortunately it gave me an error: Fix VTS Sectors failed! Reason: Could not find Video_TS.IFO file. Creating an ISO file was cancelled.

However a bunch of files have been created (16Gig in total) and I was wondering if I could create a DVD out of these files afterall?

Largest files:
-TFM_enc_video1.m2v =>4.2GB
-TFM_Muxed_Video1.mpg => 4.4GB
-TFM_Subbed_Video1.mpg => 4.5GB
-TFM_Encoded1_Audio1.ac3 => 162MB
In a seperate map DVD\VIDEO_TS:
-VTS_01_1.VOB, VTS_01_2.VOB, VTS_01_3.VOB, VTS_01_4.VOB (no other files are existing, even not the Video_TS.IFO)

DVD\AUDIO_TS is empty.

I spent two days creating a dvd with no result and I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to this. I have no ideas what all these and other files are and what I need of those. Can somebody help?

Thanks.

You had problems, because you don’t have an avi file, you have a divx file. Instead of AVI2DVD, you should be using DIVX2DVD.

Video is very complex, and if you plan on working with it, you need to invest the time learning the terms, reading about what video is, and it’s formats, and learning about the various tools for working with it.

Is your .m2v complete? is your ac3 audio complete? If they are then try muxing them with DVDAuthor Gui, or muxman,to create a DVD compliant file…
Or use something like FAVC or DVDFlick… on your avi…
BTW. that’s some sound advise by harley…read,read,and then read some more!..good luck and have fun reading…:slight_smile:

Ok, thanks so far. BTW the movie is an avi (v2.0) so all the work has not beend one for nothing.

I’ll check if the m2v is complete, but it is a large file and I’m not sure if I can play it in a player without freezing the system.