AVI to DVD problem?

vbimport

Hi , i’m having problems when converting and burning from avi to DVD (burning onto a 4.7 GB DVD - R disc)
The burnt dvd will play fine on my computer but when i put it into a standalone DVD players it freezes at regular intervals all the way through the film? it is unwatchable !
I am using cucusoft avi to dvd pro, i have used cucusoft in the past without these freezes in the dvd.
Dvd shrink was working fine for converting and then burning files. I have tested three different burners so i know it’s not my burner or my burner software.
I am now on my second brand of DVD - R discs but they still freeze and judder in my standalone dvd player . Should i try DVD R OR DVD + R.
I’m no expert but i doubt changing my media will help because the DVD’s play ok in my computer!
I thought the most likely cause could be that the settings on cucusoft were causing these errors but i doubt cucusoft would have settings that caused such a terrible mutation?
My brain is dead , please help me:doh:

Computer will play lots of stuff which stand alone will not.
You did not mention disc brand. Is your burner firmware up to date?
I would suspect it to be disc problem.
You can download Nero Speed and check the disc there. It is not 100%, but will give you an indication what is going on.

Hi CDuncle and thanks for a quick reply.
I have tried different brands and all fail; I have been copying successfully from avi to dvd for years using the same media as i am now with no problems.
I know my burning software and media discs are ok because when i am burning with other formats e.g. from video - ts to dvd there is no problem ?
I’ve checked the settings on cucusoft and everything seems to be normal, surely cucusoft would’nt enable such a terribel sort of mutation would it?

Did you have the same brand working on your stand alone before?
It would help, but not guarantee, unless it is the same batch of discs.
Do you have more than one burner to try?