AVI problems/too big?/wot?

vbimport

:confused: Hi I am new to the forum but not to using Nero 6 Ultra. I have been using it for 2 yrs or so to transfer analogue camcorder videos to burn to DVD though a capture device. I have also been using Recode to back up some kids DVDs I own for the car because they get scratched pretty quick. Burning cds no problems at all whatsoever with anything.
I also recently acquired a SONY HCR30 DV cam that allows you to connect an analogue device such as a hifi VCR to it and stream the output through the cam’s dv port. I successfully took some old VCR tapes of my sons favourite show and made a 1 hour compilation DVR and it plays fine will full menus animations etc on even my old 1st generation SONY dvd player I stuck in my daughters room.
NOW I took a 1hr 45 min EC concert video and captured it on to a mapped network drive (as I have been doing all along). This resulted in a 22.5GB AVI file. I created all the chapters etc (a pain in the arse with a live concert) and went to burn it to a 4.7gb DVD. I used the 2pass vbr and the standard play option and NERO told me that it would take up like 4.2gb so there I go. I have tried this twice on a 1.8mz pentium w 512ram box and an Athlon 3500 newcastle w 1gb ram lappy and in all 3 cases nero showed that this project would take 8 hours or so to do this. I walk away from the machine and the next morning and greeted by “Burn process failed”.
I have sent this to nero and got a fast initial response, and I replied with all the stuff they asked me for but no further reply as of yet.
The problem seems to happen every time thusly:

[19:07:35] DVDEngine ERROR
[19:07:35] DVDEngine cause: 128 (nmc_processing_exception)
[19:07:35] DVDEngine source: DEGuardNMCConversion
[19:07:35] DVDEngine description: SEH EXCEPTION caught during INeroMediaConverter::DoConversion().
[19:07:35] DVDEngine