Avi conversion to stream to xbox?

vbimport

hey basically im a noob when is comes to this stuff and not many ppl can give me a noob answer but here goes, i have an avi video ( have a few actualy) that i stream from pc to my xbox 360 through media sharing, all work fine on both xbox and pc exept 1 it works fine for a few seconds then bam slows down gets blocky and distorted and sounds pants aswell, i figured (probably wrong) the xbox can’t deal with the compression since it can’t seem to play home made dvd’s that have been compressed easily either.

anyway… it did that to my video so i converted it into another avi with avs video converter, video divx audio mp3 192kbps and it worked but alas quality sucked a bit, and i checked and the file downsized.

so basically i want to convert it to something to windows media player and xbox can read without being too compressed so it can actualy read it.

and btw i don’t have a clue about kbps why it matters or what is counts for.
also to put some of your minds at rest as far as i kno its not illegal just some recreational…entertainment should i say

Does the avi file in question play without issues on the computer?

You can examine the file with MediaInfo and post the specifications for us here. MediaInfo is free to download and use. I find the Tree view within it to be the most informative. http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en
Might want to edit out the name of the file before posting. Once we know what you have, we will be better able to recommend how to convert it.

I use a couple of free tools to work with avi files. One is AviDemux, which can convert the file to another format if necessary. http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/

This page shows necessary formats for streaming with the Xbox 360: http://support.xbox.com/support/en/us/nxe/gamesandmedia/movies/videofaq/viewvideoplaybackfaq.aspx#maxBitRate

r1ft23, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Moving your thread over to the “video edit software” forum :wink: