Audio Writing Speed

vbimport

What is the recommended speed for writing Audio CDs. Does 24x make a difference to the quality or is that just a myth.

I have read a lot of threads on many forums that people have noticed difference in quality of sound when burned at higher speeds and on lower speeds such as 8x the quality is much better. I personally have noticed “some” difference not much only when u hear it thru and good set of headphones but thru normal speakers sounded the same to me but I do think it is true, I’d prefer 12x to burn audio cd’s not too slow and not too fast, right in the middle.

Hope this helps

Alam

In my opinion, it’s just a myth.

For Audio, I think it is a myth, but I’ve had some experiences with backing up games that suggests otherwise…

It depends on your hardware setup, as well as the media used.
Some media can’t handle audio written at high speeds well. This best experienced when using the backed up media in car stereo.

If you use proper media, with a proper writer and a decent hardware setup, burning at 12x should cause no problems (never happened in My Plex12/10/32s anyway)

I think hardware and the media used play a big part on this.
Before my Liteon 32x i had an HP 8x.
When recording at 8x on the HP, and playing on my friends auto cd-player it would skip, sometimes fail to do random seek or wouldn’t play at all.
Now with the Liteon, i record at 8x and on the same auto,using similar media, it works great.
As of media, i use TDK Reflex, Verbatim Metal AZO, MITSUI Silver Gold and PRINCO.

Cya
Drakis

Its a myth
in fact writing audio CDRs at less than the speed the machine
was designed for produces more errors.
If you have a 24x recorder, record at 24x, etc.

It has more to do with the quality of CDR media you are using.
Find a make that works in your audio player, and stick with it!