Audio Video sync adjustment for dummies like myself

vbimport

I spent a couple days working on converting a couple of avi files to burn to dvd where the audio and video were out of sync. They looked fine when viewing as avi on the PC, but were off when converted to DVD. I read a lot of threads on this and other websites and tried over 10 video converter programs before I stumbled onto the easiest method that worked for me.

I am a newbie at this and doing things like demuxing the audio and video streams into separate files with advanced software was really beyond me, but I did try (and did learn a lot in the process - more than I wanted to know!). I thought I had found a good method by reading this or that thread but when I would try something would always go wrong - I did not have the correct codec for this or that program or the software said there was a problem with the AVI and could not process the file. I guess part of my problem is I don’t know how to integrate the various programs with the codecs I have installed (ACE Mega Codec pack and a few others). I figured this would be an automatic process but I guess that is not correct. It was very frustrating.