Audio Processing Help

I am a newbie here, and to pc audio. My question is, I have some old recordings from the '50’s and '60’s, they are speaches with and without audiences. As I am sure you can assume the quality sucks. Lots of noise, hissing, popping, on and on… what I am seeking are suggestions on what I could do to clean them up. I have CoolEdit Pro, But I am lost, I’ve tried some of the filters, with out allot of success, (I just used the filters as is, I did not adjust anything in the filters, because I don’t know what I should be trying to correct.) I’m not stupid just inexperienced. LOL. I have a freind that has access to Other Audio Editing software, but he is clueless as well. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
:bow: :bow: TIA Mike :bow: :bow:

Ps. I tried the noise reduction filter, and after it ran there was nothing left. LOL

Hi! There’s no magic wand solution to your problem and perfection doesn’t exist, even if you were to manually try and eliminate every single pop, crack and hiss sound. My advice: save yourself the hassle and keep your recordings in their original state.

There’s many more programs like Pinnacle/Steinberg’s Clean (no longer), Magix’ Cleaning Lab, WavePurity etc., but as your experience with CoolEdit/Audition shows, you can either forget them or prepare yourself for a Sysiphus work.

You can try the hydrogenaudio forums for more expert advice.

I’ve only tried this with a couple of different programs and don’t even remember what they were called but they did clean up the pops and clicks a little bit but they sounded worse than before, no tone quality at all.

Sound Forge by Sonic Foundry is a excellent program … not easy to master and not cheap either … all depends how valuable your recordings are to you but does a great job …

Wobble , seems i’ve seen that avatar someplace else , am i correct ??

I posted a larger one on the “little context thead” or somewhere a few months ago. :confused: