Audio out of sync with downloaded movie

vbimport

ok. im a noob here… in both respects…

im still in the process of learning a few things…

heres my situation… i just recently downloaded a divx (avi file) and when i play it in my player (elecard mpeg 2 player) the audio is going faster than the video… youll hear em talk… and then. .like 2 seconds later… youll see theyre voices move to what they just said…

any ideas on where to start?

is this a file issue? (maybe the file is corrupted or otherwise screwed up… ?) or is this a player issue?

thanks for any heads up

Is the audio out of synch at a constant rate - ie does it stay 2 seconds out for the entire film??

Yea… im assuming its a divx rip (its an .avi file)

im using elecard mpeg player to view it… recently, i solved an earlier issue… there was no sound AT ALL… it was encoded with ac3 audio codec i beleive… so i installed that particular codec… and i have sound…

but now… its like… its consistanly behind…

i tried one of the methods mentioned earlier in this post but i get an error message when i try to open that file… its still playable…just the sound is off…

eventually. i wanna burn it as a vcd (i dont have a dvd burner installed on my system)

ii dont know if i the sound is consistanly behind. i do know. that it is behind… but i dunno if its like… 1 sec behind… then gets more and more delayed… i just know… youll hear someoneo talking… and then youll see theyre lips move 2 seconds later…

any thoughts?

oh yea… i downloaded this off of a program like kazaa its possible the person i d/l it off of… didnt do it right…

but… is there a way i can fix it?

hmmm… not sure about editing an ac3 file, but ONE way to do it would be to use virtualdub to extract the audio as a wav file.
Then use a sound editor to add 1 or 2 seconds of silence at the start of the sound file.
Save it and use virtualdub to rebuild the avi with the new sound file.