Audio Editing Software

Does anyone know if there is audio editing software that can create MP3 files with a bit rate >320Kbps?

I’m not a very expert in audio coding, but I think that coding bitrate is independent from audio application. It is codec (such as LAME for example) that determine at which max bitrate is possible to encode. I don’t know if there is any mp3 codec able to encode >320kbps, but I never seen one.

If you want better quality, maybe can use a different codec, possibly a not-lossy one.

most audio editing programs do what you want to do,.

try Audacity, Audacity is a free open source editing and multitrack software. No track limits, no midi support.

you will need the Lame_enc.dll engine to get reasonable quality. it will encode at 320 kbs without problems.

follow link for free download http://audacity.sourceforge.net/?lang=en

Well, assuming you want to have better quality and have chosen > 320 kbps for this reason, you are very close to lossless compression. That one, however, will not be played by stand-alone devices.
If you are still interested, I recommend http://www.monkeysaudio.com. It is freeware.

One of the best for conversion, tag edit, and easy view by cursor is next >

dbpoweramp

And for burning Audio/MP3 cd’s (normalise volume, mixing, …) see what you can do with Acoustica

could ypu please explain WHAT will NOT be played on a stand alone device ?

Sorry for sounding lame, but why would you want more than 320kbps? I dont think that there is a human being that can actually hear a difference in quality over 256kbps, and most of us cant hear it over 192kbps. why bother? it will just make your file bigger.

Yep, more than 320kbps is really not useful at all, just a waste of space for nothing.

Originally Posted by urvieh
That one, however, will not be played by stand-alone devices.

I think some players can play mp3 with that high bitrate. Majority cannot, sure.