ASUS DRW-24F1ST a - spins down during burning

vbimport

Hello,

I’ve just purchased the Asus “DRW-24F1ST a” to replace an aged Pioneer that was damaged in a house move. I’ve been burning data DVDs since 2004 and can count on 10 fingers the number of coasters I’ve made.

I use (mostly) Verbatim (16x) DVD-R and DVD+R media to burn archive DVDs - very rarely do I bother with audio or video DVDs.

It’s a WinXP Pro system, and I’m using NERO to burn.

OK, I’ve not seen this problem before but when I burn data discs using the Asus (mostly at 8x but I’ve tried also, 6x, 10x and 16X) every time, when the burn gets to around 30%, the drive spins down and then continues the burn. The verification process passes each time but on looking at the burned disc there is a tell-tale ring at (I’m assuming) the 30% mark (out from the centre).

Has anybody else i) seen this happen with the Asus and ii) can anybody offer a possible solution? It’s quite disconcerting.

Many thanks.

Kim.

Welcome. :slight_smile:

When you say it spins down, do you mean you hear the drive completely stop making noise then resume?

Can you create a data disc with CD-DVD Speed (likely included in the Nero suite, also available standalone elsewhere) to see if the same thing happens? You might have to try a disc at each speed, and post screenshots of the resulting burn curve for each one.

Hi

Thanks for replying. Apologies for taking a while to get back to you, I had to figure what to do with CD-DVD Speed as I hadn’t used it before.

Here are some images.

The middle image shows the box ticked for simulate but it gave a warning and said it would probably not simulate on the type of disc I was using and true to its word it burnt instead.

Hope I’ve done that correctly.