ASUS DRW-1608P2S Query

vbimport

I got myself a ASUS DRW-1608P2S today… I have some Queries regarding this drive… I am totally new to Pioneer / Asus drives. Currently I was using a Lite-on 1633s.

1. Which rebadged Pioneer drive is this exactly???
  2. I want to cross flash it to a Pioneer firmware with RPC1??? For this I plan to use info available here.
  3. Which is the best Firmware to flash this drive…
  4. If cross Flashed to Pioneer firmware will it be possible to revert back to ASUS firmware again??? If so what is the procedure??

Thanks in advance and hope to get valuable guindance from you guys in this regard…

Come on Guys… Pls Help… :frowning:

1. dvr 110
  2. not sur … I croshflash asus 1608P2 to dvr 110

1608P3(dvr 111D) ou 1608P3S(dvr 111) is better than 1608P2(dvr 110D) or 1608P2S (dvr 110)

and firmware of pioneer is better supported than firmware of asus
that is why everybody crossflash to pioneer

for me, the only advantage of asus is perhaps the bundle of soft
but it is only my own opinion

You have to know what you are doing to succeed.

1. 110D
  2. good idea
  3. normally the latest
  4. yes, if you have the correct firmwares and dvrflash.

The Asus drives sold here are approx. €5 more than the Pioneers.

It is 110 without “D” , Asus 1608P2 “without S” is 110D

I confirm it

Thanks for guidance… Going to try to flash now and will let ya know a little later…

Thanks guys…

I Successfully flashed my ASUS DRW-1608P2S to Pionner DVR-110. And the drive is working fine…

1.What is the difference b/w DVR-110 and A10XL drives???

1. If I use the buffalo 8.39 fw from the TDB will autobitset will be enabled in my drive???

1-Only difference is in the appearance + A10XL uses Quite Drive software “controlling the speed of the drive” .
2- Yes

I have flashed to the Buffalo fw 8.39 and burnt one DVD+R and i could not set the bitsetting to DVD Rom.