ASUS DRV 0804-P writing problem

vbimport

greetings my new friends. im a newbie here but i have some experience about burning cd’s or sth. whatever i’ve been using my asus dvd writer for a month. and using the cheapest dvd media (4x princo white) i find. but i sometimes have problem with those. first of all i couldn’t find any topic about asus so i opened it in pioneer topic. i hope you wouldnt mind.
the problem is sometimes when i want to backup my divx films into a dvd-r i burn it in 4x speed but sometimes after burning my writer isnt able to read that dvd. i cant open what i written on it. what can i do to get over it? should i update my dvd-rw’s firmware? i heard this kind of things make the writers out of warranty. will it be out of warranty if i update it? the current firmware is 1.05 the default one maybe i can somehow make it better.
waiting for your answers.
thank you so much

could somebody help me? i’ve downloaded the new firmware for my drive(v 1.15)
and found out my drive is actually the same with pioneer 107d
plz somebody give me an answer. will the writing quality improve if i update its firmware? and is it that risky that i shouldnt do that?
should i update its firmware? somebody give me an answer plz.
thank you so much