ASUS CRW-5224A burning problems

Hi everyone,

I tried posting this on one of the older post by another member, but no one reponded so i decided to post it here, since i’m a newbie and all. :stuck_out_tongue:

here’s the situation:

I wanted to know what’s wrong with my Asus 52x24x52x CD-RW. I’ve been trying to burn in a 650mb file to an Arita Gold blank CD using my writer and Nero, but everytime the burning process is almost completed this message appears:

I’ve tried slowing the speed down, but still no go. I’ve actually wasted 5 blank CDs straight, due to this problem.

BTW, if it helps my specs are:
Celeron 400Mhz
Asus Cusl2 mobo
192mb SDRAM
Shared VGA, sound & LAN
8.4 gb HDD
Windows 98

Im not really sure why that the message above in the above pic appears, but when i take a look under nero’s Info Tool, this shows up:

http://img234.imageshack.us/img234/9579/infotool5su.png

and under windows system properties this:

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/...dowsinfo5uf.png

Anyway, I have them on separate IDE cables. Although the CD-RW is using a cable from a Dell small form factor Pii PC that i picked up somewhere. I’m looking at this IDE cable now and it seems its a little different from the usual, the cable is very very short.

LATER after talking to a few tech savvy friends of mine at work, i tried updating the ASPI files using forceASPI. I’ve also freed up harddrive space, it seems before i did this i had less than 100MB in HHD space!!! I’ve also tried even slower writing speeds

However, i still cant complete the bruning. I mean this time i can go all the way to 100% with Nero but then the message: “Burn process failed” appears as well as this:

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/8325/al...sucessul5xm.jpg

BTW, i’m very ignorant on how to get the full log of nero. can anybody give me a hint? (a real stupid noob here)

THANKS in advancce!!! :bow: :bow: