Asus A8N5X audio help

Hi all,
I am a newbie. Please feel free to move this to an appropriate forum. I just finished building my first pc. Everything went well until I hooked up the speakers from my old pc. No sound. I have gone over all the speaker connections and configurations multiple times and am confident they are correct. Here is the stupid question. Was there a cable, other than the pc speaker wire from the case to the motherboard, that I missed. I was told the sound traveled through the IDE cables. I was reading over the mobo manual. It lists 1 internal audio connectors (CD/AUX) and 1 front panel audio connector. The front panel one is the one bundled in with hd led, reset and power, right?
Please help,
Shine

Welcome to the forum, Shine :slight_smile:

The “Speaker” connector as bundled with the wires for LEDs and switches is just for a little built-in speaker or beeper that’s mounted in the PC case. It gives “beep” signals, but has nothing to do with audio. Forget about Front audio connections for now (until you get sound working, at least).

Audio from your CD/DVD drive travels through the IDE cable as you say. You don’t need to connect a seperate (analog) cable to the CD/AUX pins for this any more, but you have to check the drive’s properties in Device Manager to see if “digital audio” is enabled.

If you don’t get any Windows sounds or can’t listen to mp3’s etc., right-click on the little speaker icon in the System Tray (you have installed your mobo’s sound drivers, right?) and un-mute or adjust the volume sliders as required.

Thanks for the welcome, and the assistance. I did install the the drivers from the cd that came with the mobo. I have checked the volume levels, all okay. I’m new to xp also, and I can’t remember how to get to the device manager to see if digital audio is enabled. Refresh me please.
Shine