[Ask] Would A Disc Scanned Twice At Same Speed With Same Drive and Software Gives Two Different Results?

vbimport

Hi all !!! I’m new to the scene. Forgive me for being a noob but I have questions regarding PIPO scans. Googled, read and learned EVERYTHING about PIPO scanning from this forum but I can’t find one that explains the following :

I burned a Verbatim DVD+R DL MKM-003-00 with Sony Optiarc AD-7240S and scanned it with Sony DRU-720A TWICE at the same speed but on different days/time. The software used is DVDInfoPro Xtreme v1.631. And it gave me two different results.

First scan :

Second scan :

My questions are :

1. Is this suppose to happen ??? I thought that a same disc scanned twice at same speed with same drive & software, is suppose to give close-to-same results ???

2. If no, then could it be a sign that the DRU-720A is dying ???

I hope I made my questions clear enough. Thank you very much for your kind answers. :slight_smile:

If it were really dying, it would exhibit more read errors when the speed is high.
What about a LiteOn, BenQ or Plextor scan? Usually NECs/Optiarcs scans should be taken with a pinch of salt, although these recent ones aren’t bad at all for scanning (then should be used with Nero CD-DVD Speed).

Hi kg_evilboy !!! Thank you for ur immediate answer.

[QUOTE=kg_evilboy;2512074]If it were really dying, it would exhibit more read errors when the speed is high.[/QUOTE]

Are you implying the DRU-720A still up to the task for scanning ??? If yes, then what explains the two different results ???

[QUOTE=kg_evilboy;2512074]What about a LiteOn, BenQ or Plextor scan? Usually NECs/Optiarcs scans should be taken with a pinch of salt, although these recent ones aren’t bad at all for scanning (then should be used with Nero CD-DVD Speed).[/QUOTE]