Arghh - help! CD burner killed by AnyDVD!

I am pretty new at all this, so please - simple explanations! I downloaded the trial of AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 nearly three weeks ago, and I love them to bits. BUT I hit a snag a week ago and nobody has been able to help, so I am torn between buying programmes I love and… dumping the lot!

I am running Wondows XP Pro, and like I said - perfect backups with AnyDVD and CloneDVD2, but last Monday I needed to write some data to a CD, and nothing in the world would make it happen for me. I have two dual layer burners. AnyDVD jumped straight in and recognised the blank disks as CDR’s but whenever I tried to burn the data I kept getting the message that the drive was inaccessible and nothing happens - especially not anything that involves writing the data! AnyDVD appears to be blocking Windows from detecting the CD and using it to burn data. CD’s burned previously work fine - I can get the data from them, but I can’t write anything.

I tried turning off the autostart and re-booting - didn’t help.

I did send a query to Slysoft but I haven’t had an answer - and I am DESPERATE!

First off, you didn’t mention the obvious: if you tried uninstalling AnyDVD. In the unlikely case it was causing your problem that should do the trick. Also, from your post, it appears your trial period is running out anyway; so if you “love them to bits” you may want to purchase them and get full tech support for their products. The only other time I’ve heard this happening is when people tried to use bogus pirated keys, which I’m sure is not your case.

I’m running windows xp and I run into the same problem with writing data to disks. For some reason the drives occasionally turn themselves off.
Open up My Computer and right click on the drive you are wanting to write to.