Are these real Taiyo Yudens or fakes?

I am new to buying dvd media but have read that there are knock offs of TY’s floating around. I have an Amazon gift certificate to use so I was thinking about getting these.
They are from Media Supply. Does anyone have any experience with these or should I not worry because it is through amazon? Thanks.

If you prefer online purchase, ordering from rima.com or supermediastore.com would be safe.

I have an amazon gift certificate I want to use though, so I was wondering if anyone had any experience buying these. Thanks.

those are not fake, but they are not the premium grade Taiyo Yuden

Yo-

How do you know that?

Mike

Problem 1. You will pay shipping.
Problem 2. I would be very surprised if these were real 16X media. While they may burn at 16X I would bet they are Value Line G02.

Before I would ever order I would verify the media code from the dealer. If the shipping is only $5 or so then you are OK as long as you do not expect to burn at 16X.

For another quality option at Amazon see here.

Both Verbatims are MCC and burn very well at close to TY quality.

I just got these dvds from Amazon day before yesterday. Fast delivery and the two burns so far have been the best I’ve had out of hundreds, according to Kprobe. I’m definitely sticking with Ty from now on! Oh, and Dvdidentifier shows them as TYGO3.

Here’s what Dvdidentifier says:

Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD-R:TYG03]

Disc & Book Type : [DVD-R] - [DVD-R]
Manufacturer Name : [Taiyo Yuden Co. Ltd.]
Manufacturer ID : [TYG03]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4.71 GB (4.38 GiB)]

[ DVD Identifier - http://DVD.Identifier.CDfreaks.com ]

Hope this helps!

the mediacodes real! … what about a scan for us too?

This is my first burn at 8X. I use a stock Liteon 1633. What do you think?

Date : 7/31/2005 12:42:05 PM
Model : 1-0-0-0 LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-1633S BS0S
Disc : DVD-R , TYG03 [Taiyo Yuden Company Limited]
Speed : Max
ECC blocks sum (PI/PIF) : 8/1