Are 8x Maxell DVD-R's any good?

I want to back up my MP3 collection and all I’ve got are some 8x Maxell DVD-R’s. Do you think I should go out and buy some higher quality discs or will Maxell be good enough? I’ve never used Maxell DVD-R’s before so this is why I am asking this. Thanks.

Made in Japan or Made in Taiwan?
Made in Japan = media code MXLRG03, excellent discs.
MIT - Probably RitekG04. VERY crappy.

You meant G05 I’m sure. Potentially the worst discs ever made, because of the common problem of deterioration with them. :Z

Actually I’m not quite sure, they were given to me by someone. I don’t even have a case for them or anything. Is there anyway I could find out exactly what kind they are?

Everybody should just stick to VERBATIM and the world would be a less troubled place. :slight_smile:

Download Nero CD-DVD Speed (it’s free and also allows various testing of your media and drive). Put a disc in your drive. In CD-DVD Speed click on the ‘disc info’ tab. If they are Ritek G05, you should reburn any important burns to more reliable media (such as Verbatim as Bearded mentions).

They are Ritek GO5, I guess I will use some Verbatims instead. Thanks. I will just have to use those DVD’s on something less important, most likely just for testing.

What kind of life-span do Verbatims have?

Yes, I would just suggest using them for things such as short term backups, giveaway discs to friends with the understanding that they may or may not hold up over a long period of time, etc.