aonePLUS and aone PREMIUM, help needed asap

hi guys, i just joined this forum to ask this, seemed like the place seen as this is the site i kept coming across while looking for the answer but i never found it

anyway
, i have been using aoneplus dvd+r dl for around 2 years now i think, i bought a new bunch off of ebay but i was sent aonePREMIUM, and ive had nothing but problems and only realsied afterward that they were different

the discs just plain dont work, and if they do, it hurts to watch because its a struggle

i dont know much about the discs but from what i can tell, ricoh is good, and umedisc isnt so good

the aoneplus i have is ricoh-jpn-d01
these burn at upto 8x

the premiums are umedisc-dl1
and they dont even burn faster then 2.4x even though the packaging says 8x

the seller is telling me this, that the premium have replaced the plus and that plus are now finished and non-existant, then he goes on to say that i need updated firmwire to use them properly =/

i have a sony DW-Q30A and i dont know exactlywhere to look for updates but through windows,it tells me its up to date

can someone help filter the truth and the lies n tell me whats going on with these discs please?

ta:bigsmile:

[QUOTE=johnnyturk;2414275]i dont know much about the discs but from what i can tell, ricoh is good, and umedisc isnt so good[/QUOTE]

You’ve already figured out the answer to your own question. UME is a cheap low-grade media manufacturer, based in China. All the media they produce is C grade at best, and landfill material at worst. Do not use those discs. They’re worthless.

However, the seller is also correct, your DVD burner is based on an older model of Lite-On drive, and is most likely not going to have a clue as to how to handle those UME discs. So, you can buy a new DVD burner, to see how that works, or, you can just get some decent media.