Anyone know what these XP app's are?

Hi everyone. I’ve just gotten WinXP up & running now as a dual boot system,(98/ & XP Home Edition). After going online via my XP partition & installing/setting up my anti-virus software,accessing the net to d/l the latest updates, I then installed ZoneAlarm. (Basic free edition).

It was while accessing the Internet on Win XP Home Ed., a second time,with Zonealarm running that I had two program requests that I’ve never heard of.
One was a internet access request identified as
D:\Windows\System32\spoolsv.exe
V.5.1.2600 Mircrosoft Operating system 50kb

The second was a server request which had accessed the 'net before I had installed Zonealarm on XP.
Do you allow Generic Host Process for Win 32 services to access connections from the internet
Application: svchost.exe
Version: 5.1.2600 Microsoft Windows Operating system 12kb

They’re both WinXP/Microsoft app’s, but being an XP newbie, I have no idea what either “spoolsv.exe” or “svchost.exe” are?:confused:
Anything related to Windows XP Windows update?
Thanks in advance for any thoughts,I’ve refused them access via ZoneAlarm, until I know what M$ app’s they are.

svchost.exe is windows services, if you press ctrl+alt+del you’ll see that you have several processes by the name svchost.exe running. You cannot shut them down, they’ll simply restart.
spoolsv is something similar but I don’t know it’s exact purpouse.

Those apps are the core of XP, only accept that they are there and let them surf :slight_smile:

There are several processes that are required to have access, they are detailed in the ZA help files. Generic Host Process is one of them. If you are networking, that might explain the “spoolsv.exe”, but I know of no other reason for it to access the net. You need to enter your network as a “trusted zone” in ZA, (again refer to the help files), in order to stop most of the regular alerts on network activity.