AnyDVD Won't Work

I am new to AnyDVD and have installed it on both my old Windows XP machine and a new Dell Dimension Windows XP machine (which has tons of hard drive and 3 GB of RAM). On both computers, I get the settings window when I double click on the AnyDVD link. However, when I place a DVD in the DVD drive, nothing happens. I can not get AnyDVD to start up and run on either machine. I had a friend over who had recommended this program to me. He runs it all the time on his computer and he also could not get it to work.

I have downloaded the latest AnyDVD program today (April 10) so should be running the latest and greatest version of the program. However I did not want to pay for a license until I can get it to work.

Are there any obvious fixes I can try?

Thanks,
Gerard

ok… you do know anydvd runs in the background? it removes copy protection, but isnt a transcoding program. Check if there is a fox in the bar in the bottom right hand corner of your screen

also please list any and all dvd related programs that you have installed on your system.

dvd43 is one of a few known conflicts with anydvd.

have you uninstalled anydvd including registry info and tried reinstalling it cleanly. re-download the file from www.slysoft.com for the new installation to ensure that you did not start with a corrupt file.

I guess I was going off of what my friend said, who told me a window should open that then allows you to copy the DVD. He has used the program for a long time, so maybe he is running an older version that works differently? Maybe my problem is that I’m having trouble locating an instruction guide for how to operate the program. Can you point me to one? Do you simply put in the DVD, then copy the DVD with Roxio, etc.? I thought there was more to it than that.

Thanks.