Anybody else having problems with AVAST

vbimport

After seeing some recommendations for AVAST here, I downloaded AVAST personal edition, onto my Windows XP box. Last night, I noticed that everything was hanging up on my pc. No matter what I tried to do, it would just lock up. Finally, I decided to close down AVAST (just for giggles), and all my problems went away… This is a 3.4ghz pc with 2gb of memory… Anybody else had problems???

I’m dual booting Vista 32 and Vista 64…one side I use the free edition and the other I use the six month freebie you gave us the heads up on…not problems on either side for me, but I’ll double check when I get home to make certain.

Yo Rob-

I am using Avira AntiVir Personal Free AntiVirus which is rated by many sites as the very best free antivirus currently out and available here:

I’ve been using it for the past 6 months and it is extremely good-eh!!

My eyes are playing tricks on me…I was thinking Avira as that is what I use. I used Avast before Avira and can agree with Mike, much better IMHO.

I tried Avast before, but I got very slow internet connection with it. AVG Free is the one I use now.

im running Avast 4 Home. have been for years. ( have tried others just to go back to avast. ) i dont notice any negative performace related to avast running. also have zonealarm free running.

( i have [B]FAH[/B] turned [B]off[/B] for the task manager screen shots. )

internet: 8000 down and 512 up

processor: AMD Athlon 2400+ 2 GHz

memory: 1.5 GB Kingston PC2700

Sorry… This should have said problems with AVIRA PE… It is AVIRA PE that is giving me the problems. I will have to uninstall and reinstall it and see if that fixes things…

Hehe, Avast, Avira, AVG… I use all three free versions on one computer or other (not for myself :disagree:) and haven’t had this kind of problem with either.

Avast: running ~2 years on XP, only negative is that you need to re-register each year (and have to merge the two! system tray icons).