Any new DVD technology?

vbimport

I am building a new system and will be putting in a DVD burner. I have never used one before so need some help in choosing a good one. I will be backing up home DVDs and also using it for data transfer and backup. I have looked at the Sony DRU-500AX as a possibility, but have just read that there is a 510AX model either just out or coming out.
I will be putting it all together and buying the DVD drive in about a month. My question is – Will there be any new DVD technology coming out in the next 4 to 5 weeks that I should wait for?

Originally posted by Willgg
I am building a new system and will be putting in a DVD burner. I have never used one before so need some help in choosing a good one. I will be backing up home DVDs and also using it for data transfer and backup. I have looked at the Sony DRU-500AX as a possibility, but have just read that there is a 510AX model either just out or coming out.
I will be putting it all together and buying the DVD drive in about a month. My question is – Will there be any new DVD technology coming out in the next 4 to 5 weeks that I should wait for?

How new? 8x DVD+R? Serial ATA?

I am aware that no matter what computer related equipment I buy, in six months there will be a new and improved version that comes out and that my $300 purchase is now selling for $179. I just wanted to prevent myself from buying a DVD burner, then find out that an improved one just came out and that everyone but me had been waiting for it for the last six weeks.

Since I wrote the original post, I found out that the DRU-510 is coming out soon. I may just use an old CD drive and wait until it comes out and is proven to be a good drive before I buy it.